There’s a certain Slant of light

There’s a certain Slant of light,
Winter Afternoons–
That opresses, like the Heft
Of Cathedral Tunes–

Heavenly Hurt, it gives us–
We can find no scar,
But internal difference,
Where the meanings are–

None may teach it–Any–
‘Tis the Seal Despair–
An imperial affliction
Sent us of the Air–

When it comes, the Landscape listens–
Shadows–hold their breath–
When it goes, ’tis like the Distance
On the look of Death–

– Emily Dickinson

Today was one of those horrid February days that makes you want to hunt down Punxsutawney Phil and make him retract his prediction for 6 more weeks of this by whatever means necessary – blackmail, torture, whatever…

I had to battle my way home from the dentist (there’s your first clue about how my day went…) through icy, icy sleet and gale-force winds.  It was ugly, it was teeth-chatteringly, bitterly cold, and I came home soaked and suffering from hypothermia.  On a miserable late-winter day like today, it’s hard to see anything beautiful about winter.  And although Spring really cannot get here fast enough just now, I chose to sit down and paint… a winter scene.

The thing is, winter can be lovely, when there is no wind, and there’s glittery snow thick and fresh lying over the scene.  And the low, strangely-coloured light… I love that.  Today was not one of those winter days, but one can dream, eh?

So I did this:

Winter Light

Winter Light

I realise I have been very remiss in updating this blog, and I think we’ve all cottoned on to the fact that the whole 365 day thing just isn’t going to happen.  Still, I feel I do owe some excus… I mean, explanation.

I have been busy crocheting a cardigan – my first ever!  I got a little carried away with embellishing it, and now I’m not sure it’s fit for anything but wearing in the privacy of my own home, but still, I’m quite pleased it’s finished and actually looks passably like a garment and that the sleeves are staying on.

Cardi the first

Cardi the first

The hubster and I have also been on a DIY kick in the bathroom.  We’ve tiled our bathroom’s shower enclosure.

Before

Done!

