The title is some free association on my part, a stream of consciousness thing. I have combined two of my very favorite things in the whole wide world tonight: ’80s music (is that song even from the ’80s? Or is it really a ’90s song? Ah well. Still all nostalgic for me…) and Byzantine-inspired art (metal paints galore!). I have always adored Byzantine art – the metallic paints on the religious icons, the jewels and mosaics and decadent richness and color of it all. Yum.

I’m sat here listening to my favorite Californian radio station, KSCU 103.3, via live web stream, and my favorite show, the ’80s Underground, which is why I love love love Wednesdays. (It is ALMOST taking the edge off the mad homesickness I’ve been experiencing lately… almost.) And I have just finished another painting! Life just doesn’t get better than this.

Silver & Gold

Silver & Gold

So I pulled out my metallic paints again after a hiatus of about a decade. They were a little thicker than I think they were supposed to be. I suppose that’s what 10 years on a shelf does to paints. But it was ok, because I wanted a pretty texture-rich effect anyway for this painting. It’s a painting I’ve been plotting in my head for some time. And I was really digging the metallic sheen of it all. And when I was finished, I threw on some metal beads as well. Why not, eh?

In unrelated news, I made Pho Ga yesterday because (see above note re: mad homesickness, which includes certain Bay Area restaurants) I had a SERIOUS craving. A lovely friend sent me a super easy and yummy recipe, so thanks yet again, G!

Pho Ga

And I tiled the area around our drying board in the kitchen. So no more crumbling walls! Hoorah!

Kitchen tiling

Kitchen tiling

