I’ve been working on a couple paintings lately, but my, are they tedious! One is the huge one for the bathroom, and the other is a small one but super detailed and fiddly, which is not my usual style at all and quite interesting from a try-something-different perspective.

Atlantis Olive (in progress 2)

Atlantis Olive (in progress 2)


I was just getting used to my small little paintings that I bashed together in one evening no bother, I’m not used to working on a painting that takes longer anymore! Apparently I’m an artistic sprinter and keel over panting when it comes to longer cross-country distance treks. So I suppose it’s good for me, like artistic calisthenics. Feel the burn!

So, unfortunately I just have ‘in progress’ photos at the moment.

The bathroom painting is coming along, but I have big plans to embellish it with mosaic tiles and beads and other pretty shiny things (I swear I was a magpie in a previous life!), so there is more fiddly tedium to come. I’m going for a sort of Pompeiian ancient fresco mural look.

The Black Swan (in progress)

The Black Swan (in progress)


The second one started out as color concept only (I was in a red and black mood). I asked my friends on Facebook for subject matter suggestions and got ‘evil ladybirds’, ‘Dinosaur Jesus’ and pomegranates as suggestions. But I was thinking more along the lines of old Russian lacquer decorations – detailed and folk arty. I started with the swirls and it turned into a black swan, which sounds like the name of a fairytale if ever I heard it. Is there one about a Black Swan? Seems like there ought to be, if there isn’t. It takes a LOT of concentration, hunching over the canvas peering myopically at the details, and a VERY steady hand (which, for the record, I don’t have). I downed brushes yesterday feeling like Quasimodo with a migraine. Ugh. But I’m pleased with how it’s turning out so far. It’s unfortunate the photo turned out so blurry. Still getting a hang of my camera, I guess.

In other news, I made strawberry, rhubarb and mint compote. The mint was an addition I got the idea for from epicurious, and I think it really works well! Yummy! Spring is here!

I also went to the Inverurie Art Show this past weekend. It was interesting to see the sort of range of work being done out there in the local area, and also the prices they were going for. There was quite a spectrum – two paintings the same size and kind of style: one £35, the other £900. Some really lovely pieces in there, and by a couple people I knew or my husband knew, too, which was an extra bonus. I’ll have to look into the Aberdeen show, which should be coming up soon… wish information was a little easier to find on these things.

