I’m in the process of embellishing the painting for the bathroom and I’m not sure if my original idea is working or not. I wanted to give it a sort of old Greco-Roman ancient look, like something from a frescoed/mosaiced wall found in the ruins of a house at Pompeii. To do that I wanted to add a sort of mosaic element to it, but not actually do it all in mosaics, so just scattered tiles and beads around in patches. Unfortunately, I’m starting to wonder if it is starting to look a bit over-busy, or just plain stupid. What could I do to fix it?

Atlantis Olive, embel. idea 1

Atlantis Olive, embel. idea 1

Also, in other news, here’s the finished Black Swan:

The Black Swan

The Black Swan

… although I’m still considering some embellishment with little jet beads or something. But maybe it’s better flat?

I’m also going to be entering 2 paintings into the Aberdeen Artists’ annual exhibition this year. I hear it’s very competitive, so I don’t hold out high hopes of getting anything accepted, but nothing ventured, nothing gained, eh? Anyway, I need help deciding on which 2 to enter. I’ve got it narrowed down to 5.

Aberdeen

Aberdeen

Black Cherry

Black Cherry

Silver & Gold

Silver & Gold

Underwater

Underwater

The Black Swan

The Black Swan

Please vote and tell me what to do; thanks. I’m a decision-phobe!

