I don’t have anything exciting to report today, but thought that I would share a few things. First of all, proof that though I am not finishing anything just now, I am working…

I started a still life today. I haven’t done a classical still life in aaages, not since I was taking classes in high school I think, and it shows. I haven’t actually worked from life in quite a while, even. Usually it comes from photographs or pure imagination. Working from life really is much more difficult. I bought all these things specifically for the still life – lemons, blackberries, daffodils and hyacinths. I even bought the little dessert bowl specially. I wanted to do a yellow and purple/blue combo because I needed cheering up, and I find lemons and daffodils so lovely. It’s snowy and howly here and it sure doesn’t feel like Spring right now.

Here’s the ref photo of the set-up I put together for it:

Spring Still Life (photo ref)

Spring Still Life (photo ref)

And here’s the work-in-progress of the painting:

Spring Still Life (WIP)

Spring Still Life (WIP)

So far it’s just color-blocking in the various bits to get an idea. To be fair, I always hate my paintings at this stage. It’s not till you start working on shading, contrast and detail that a painting starts looking like something. But I’m pretty unhappy with it so far – the proportions are all wrong. It’s difficult too, and more laborious-feeling than my usual stuff. But I will persevere to finish this, eventually. *Sigh* Not quite the anti-depressant I thought this painting would be….

Also? Please observe my stash of paintings, which is rapidly growing.

The Stash

The Stash

People REALLY need to start buying my paintings, because I’m running out of room!! Seriously. Help a girl out. 😉

