Wow, are daffodils ever a pain in the proverbial derriere to paint! You’d think, given that I painted some in my ‘Aberdeen’ painting and had a cruddy time then that I would have learnt my lesson. Nope. Had to repeat the ordeal before I finally realised that, hey, you know what, I think I’m never ever painting those suckers again. I don’t understand why I have such a hard time with them, but I just can’t get the shading right somehow to render the ruff around the edge of the trumpet bit. Anyway, I think I managed to give at least an impression of daffodils in this painting, after hours and hours of fiddling around with it. So I think I’m officially done with this painting. I don’t think I’m a still life kind of girl…

Spring Still Life

Spring Still Life

Anyway, happy Easter everyone. The hubster is not a holiday kind of guy, so I had to make my own holiday, sadly. I always loved coloring eggs as a kid, but even that simple joy has been somewhat diminished since moving here. I can NOT find white eggs here, and coloring the brown ones just isn’t the same. I did 6 brown eggs this morning with food coloring, and got a brighter result than I have in past years with the kits you get, but it’s still kind of dull coloring because of the brown shells. I miss the pretty Springy pastels. But that’s pretty much all we did for the holiday. That, and paint daffodils. All. day. long. Never again.

Easter Eggs 2010

Easter Eggs 2010

