Not many people know I lived in Colorado twice in my life. I was born there, and then 8 years later, when we came back from Germany, we lived there again for a few months before we moved to California. As both times I was just a tot really, I don’t have many memories of the place. But one of the things I do remember is the sunsets.

Recently I saw a picture somewhere that reminded me of the Colorado sunsets, which I remember as being very dramatic with lots of lights and darks juxtaposed. It made me feel nostalgic for those days, when we had just moved to the US, which for me was foreign at the time. So I was inspired to do a painting of one of these sunsets.

Rocky Mountain Sunset

Rocky Mountain Sunset

Here’s a confession for you. I’m a total music dork, and tend to make themed playlists for myself for every occasion under the sun. I made a mountain/Colorado-themed Spotify playlist specially for painting this painting. I know, I’m sad. But they’re some pretty nice songs – some Fleet Foxes, John Denver, Stephen Stills… so if anyone’s got Spotify and is in need of a nice soundtrack for a dreary Monday, you can listen to the playlist yourself. Copy and paste this into your browser: spotify:user:gurgaveed:playlist:74IbBFi8ScjVd7hNWFZCeP

