I made the mistake today of looking at some local galleries to see what sorts of artists they had on offer, to see how I would fit in amongst them (because one day I should really approach some galleries if I’m serious about this, huh?).  And I promptly felt severely un-talented.  There are so many great artists out there, and they all seemed to have one thing that I’m starting to suspect I don’t have: a unique style.

I don’t know what happened… I felt like once upon a time I had a style of my own.  It consisted of bright colors and lots of texture from glue and beads mainly.  The subject matter wasn’t all landscapes and flowers, it was stuff that I pulled out of my imagination, weird and wacky stuff courtesy of my unconscious mind.  Since I’ve moved here, I think all that has changed, I just don’t feel there’s something tying my work together like I used to.  I feel like my subject matter has gotten more conventional, my colors more muted (thank you, Granite City!), and I’ve done away with much of the texture I used to love.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll wake up and feel more positive, but for today, I’m feeling kind of whiney and sorry for myself.  Anyone got any chips and salsa for my pity party?

I painted today at least, though it wasn’t one of my better days.  I’m on a sky kick lately I guess, and decided to do another little 5″ x 7″ painting, this time of the northern lights.  I think acrylics might not be the best medium for this, they are SO hard to blend.  This painting is actually looking half decent now that the room I’m in is almost dark, but in bright lights I’m not terribly happy with it.  To be fair, I just am not getting the hang of this camera, and this was the only picture out of about 15 that didn’t come out blurry, and even then the photograph doesn’t really look like the actual painting, so please pretend it’s actually much better than it looks.  Thanks 😉

Aurora

Aurora

