It’s been a while, I know.  After the mad dash to get my paintings ready to go for the Aberdeen Artists’ exhibition hand-in, I sort of took a painting hiatus.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  I have been working on the Polypolly painting albeit sloooowly, and I did another sky paintinglette, but that turned out so bad it will never see the light of day…  So, things have been a little slow lately, but now that I’ve given myself a slight vacation, it’s time to get back to work.

But I did want to just drop by in the meantime and show you what’s been going down.  First of all, I did drop off my babies at the Aberdeen Art Gallery last week.  It was a little odd and anti-climactic.  I handed all my forms and money over to the woman, while all the art students from Gray’s sort of hovered warily around each other and me, sizing each other up…. not the friendliest of atmospheres.  Then as I was filling out the self-addressed envelope for them to send me my rejection letter in, the woman who was processing me saw some friends and started a conversation with them.  I just sort of stood there thinking, ‘Uh, is that it…?  Am I supposed to get a receipt or something?  But the woman totally ignored me, so I figured that must be it, so I left my paintings and hope that I actually did enter them and they aren’t sitting there only half-processed or something.

I put the Aberdeen painting in a chunky but plainish frame, and while I wasn’t sure at first if I liked it, I think given how kind of busy the painting is, it needed that sort of restful edge, so I think I like it now.

Paintings framed for AAS exhibition 2010

Paintings framed for AAS exhibition 2010

The judging isn’t until this coming Thursday… as the date approaches, I get more and more nervous.  If I’m honest, I have a lot invested in this show emotionally, as it’s my first sort of foray into the Aberdeen art world, and I know a rejection there will make me feel like it’s kind of pointless to go on trying, as silly as that is.  But I know I’ll just have to allow myself a small period of moping and then suck it up and try again somewhere else.  That’s the plan at least.

And here’s the (still a work-in-progress) next step of the Polypolly painting… all the pretty birdies all in a row now.  There is still some mixed media work to be done to it though.  I’m thinking collage and crackle varnish in parts.

Polypolly

Polypolly (WIP 2)

And I baked blueberry muffins this morning.  Unfortunately, the recipe I used had the flour measurement in both metric/weight measures and volume, and I used volume, not realizing that she converted the volume incorrectly, and was actually double what it should have been.  I thought it looked a bit thick and dry when I put the batter into the cups, so added a little extra milk.  They ended up a lot less hard-rock-like than I’d feared, but they’re still a bit dry.  They look pretty though and actually taste okay as long as there’s a cup of coffee or milk available simultaneously… Uh, yum?

Blueberry Rock Muffins

Blueberry Rock Muffins

