Sheepies

Sheepies


This painting was inspired by a painting challenge on the Wet Canvas forum, this time a Mother’s Day themed challenge in the animal and wildlife forum. I don’t normally frequent it because I don’t paint too many critters, but this one caught my eye because the reference photos were sweet mama and baby animal types and I’m a sucker for those. Aww. Besides, one of the things I love the most about springtime in Scotland is driving out into the country and seeing all the lambs. I saw a lamb once standing on top of its mother. Patience of a saint, that ewe…

The challenge was actually to paint the painting in the style of Franz Marc. I started out trying to follow that, but gave up. I just can’t paint like that. So, I think the bright colors are probably all that remains that can tie this to Franz Marc’s style at all, but it doesn’t matter, I had fun nonetheless with this.

I was also working on a sort of tropical pic of flowers and a lizard for another WC challenge but that will have to be left for another day. I did a deep clean of our kitchen pantry this morning and boy am I ever pooped, and I think I possibly have dust-and-mold-inhalation poisoning as a result 😦 Ugh. So, early night tonight methinks. Hope you like the sheepies :).

