Well, our holiday is over. It was a long whirlwind of a trip spent constantly on the move and we returned tanner, yes, but not at all well rested, unfortunately. Luckily, we’ve had 4 days off since we returned, and that has been a godsend! We are so incredibly jetlagged, we go to sleep at 2am still feeling perky and wake up around noon the next day feeling like we could easily sleep the rest of the day. Going back to work tomorrow and having to wake up at 7am seems near impossible to me just now, but I guess it will have to be done. Not looking forward to it though. Whoever told me being an adult would be fun was a liar!

In addition to trying to get our seriously messed up circadian rhythms back into balance, I’m attempting to get back into the swing of painting again. I took my sketchbook with me to the US hoping I’d have long lazy days on the beach to sketch, but it never happened. So coming back to the painting board after 3 weeks off made me feel pretty rusty again. I did force myself to do something today though, and all I can say is….well, I think it’s safe to say I’m not a watercolorist…but not bad for a severely jetlagged person. I enjoyed it well enough, but it just wasn’t happening the way I wanted it to, so I think this one will be relegated to the ‘eh, it’s experience’ pile. Ho hum.

Dunnottar Castle

Dunnottar Castle

