I’ve had a photograph in my ‘inspiration’ folder for ages now of a swarm (school?) of fish that I wanted to do in shades of gold and teal/turquoise. I finally gave it a try.

I’ve used it sort of as a testing ground for various techniques and materials, and I think I’ve still got some learning to do. Particularly when it comes to metallic leaf. I’m not sure canvas is the best surface for it, but even so, I am having trouble getting it to stick on the canvas and not my fingers. Gold leaf is seriously sticky, clingy stuff! Arrrgh!!!! Also, getting it to adhere in a uniform manner proved a bit tricky – a problem I kind of went in and painted over a bit to try and hide.

Go Fish

Go Fish

The colors haven’t reproduced here very well, but this was the best photograph I could get. Some of the fishies are in metallic leaf (some gold, some patinaed copper colored), so there’s a shimmer to it when it hits the light at an angle that doesn’t reproduce here terribly well, I’m afraid. I also used some inks for the first time on canvas. I LOVE the brilliance of the colors in inks. Definitely going to have to use those more often…

