I have a bit of a problem with finishing things up. I start new paintings all the time, but I never seem to get around to finishing them. It’s starting to bug me, so I decided I’d try to put the finishing touches on some of them at least. So far, it’s not going so hot, but at least I’m getting closer. I did finally finish off the Polypolly parrot painting, although I think I messed it up. I had a collage idea in mind from the start, of the parrots all saying ‘Crackers’, but when I actually did it, I don’t think it really works. I also used super glue to attach the little beads in the background, and it made the beads look foggy and naff to me rather than glittery. So, between the crackle varnish that just looks weird and lumpy, the super glue that made my sparkly bits look dull, and the collage lettering that just looks clumsy and covers up half the parrots, I think it was an experiment in usage of materials that was not terribly successful and will need to be chalked up to ‘experience’. Sigh. I feel like I have a lot of those ‘experience’ days lately…

Polypolly

Polypolly

I also continue to struggle with the Plums painting, or, as I like to call it ‘The Neverending Painting’. I feel like I keep painting and painting and it never gets closer to being finished and it never looks, even after hours of work, like I’ve even touched it. That said, I am getting happier with the subtleties of color on the plums themselves.

Plums (WIP 2)

Plums (WIP 2)

And, I started and finished a whole new painting tonight – starting at 9:30PM and finishing by about 11PM, a record for me I think. I have it in my head to do a series of sky paintings – which the Rocky Mountain Sunset and the Aurora paintings are the beginning of – and then to see if I can get this series of small themed paintings hung somewhere like a cafe. That’s the newest plan anyway. So I’ve been scouring the net looking for dramatic pictures of skies to inspire me. This is the latest one (I promise it looks better in real life, I’m just a shockingly bad photographer!):

Sky 3

Sky 3

And in culinary news, a kind colleague gave me a heap of rhubarb from her garden, and I made it into a pie (and an absolutely vile lentil & rhubarb curry, but let us never speak of the curry again from this day forward; oh the humanity!). The pie, I am happy to say (even if my waistline is not), turned out very nice indeed. Mmmm, PIE!

Rhubarb Pie

Rhubarb Pie

