I think drawing is a sort of comfort for me, like soup or a hot water bottle, I tend to only do it when I’m feeling a little low.  I haven’t been sleeping well lately.  I’m not sure why that’s the case, I can’t connect it to any particular anxiety, but the fact is, I was up till 3:30am last night and had to get up at 7, so I am well and truly knackered today.  It’s been a bit like this all week, so I’m feeling a bit grouchy, a bit fragile and down.  This *(£”&! weather isn’t helping either… what is up with this, Scotland?  It’s July, not November.  So why am I feeling like I’ve got SAD?

So, yesterday, I returned to my Sedna drawing.  I’d actually forgotten about it until a friend mentioned it to me again the other day.  There’s something about the total absorption and the repetitive strokes of drawing that is different than painting, which at least for me is more about dabbing here and there and standing back from your work more.  Drawing seems more intense somehow, more solitary and focused.  It did my soul good and I felt a little happier afterwards, although it didn’t help me sleep, unfortunately.

Sedna (WIP 3)

Sedna (WIP 3)

It hasn’t gotten that much further, I’m a slow drawer, and I’d like to get the animals in the background sort of interconnected more, rather than just sort of stuck on willy-nilly like they are at the moment.  And I need to adjust them to make them look more like they’re swimming – I just copied them kind of literally from on-land photographs.  But I can get to that, still.

I also saw something while we were driving out to my mother-in-law’s through the countryside last weekend.  It was a herd of black and white cows standing in a field, with a flock (er, murder?) of crows flying just over their heads.  There was something about the black of the crows and the black and white of the cows that I found visually interesting, and I thought, hmm, that’d make a cool painting.  So I have a vision in my head for another painting, but rather than paint yesterday I did something that I normally never do – I did a preliminary sketch.

Cows & Crows (Sketch)

Cows & Crows (Sketch)

Yeah, I know, bad artist.  We’re supposed to keep sketch books and sketch anything and everything, but I’ve just never really done that.  I’m not sure why.  I think it’s because, like my handwriting, I don’t like the way my sketches look.  I know they’re not supposed to be perfect, but my sketches never look all windswept and interesting like so many artists’ sketchbooks you see, they just look plain old messy to me.  But for a change, I thought I’d actually dust off my sketchbook and take a spin at doing a prelim sketch of a painting, for a lark.  I suppose it was a good idea.  For one, I’m not sure I like the haybales.  Too busy, so I think I’ll leave those out in the final painting.

My husband told me, when I first met him over a critique of my first portfolio website, that I needed to concentrate more on my drawing. Perhaps he had a point there…

