I’m feeling a little bit better today, although everything was still quite a struggle. But I got out for a walk at lunchtime with the hubby and I did some dishes and I cooked and I wrote about a page on my story (sucktastic though it was) and I painted. Of everything I accomplished today, I enjoyed the walk and the painting the most. Everything else was still an incredible uphill climb, but at least I’m managing to function a bit more normally. So that’s something.

The first painting is not done yet; it’s come out of the Go Fish painting as a more elaborate concept. But I’ve gotten pretty far on it over two painting sessions so far, and I’m pretty pleased. I’m still not sure what to do with her hand. I have an image in mind of her holding her hand out and holding a pearl in it, but I am not sure how to do the forshortening of the hand, perspective-wise, and I’m not sure that’s really what I want anyway. Will have to think about it some more and maybe even get out ye olde sketchbooke and do some prelim sketching. Imagine that!

Mermaid (WIP1)

Mermaid (WIP1)

The second is a little painting (5″ x 7″) that I rustled up today. Lesson #1: Masking fluid on canvas under thick acrylic paint doesn’t really work terribly well. But it was ok. I also used inks. I absolutely love inks, they give the most vibrant colors, and color makes me happy. Yes it does. Well, happier than I have been lately, at least.

Blazing

Blazing

I’m away to watch the new episode of the new Sherlock Holmes on the BBC iPlayer. I’m digging the show so far. I’d dig it more if it was still set in Victorian London, but they have done a good job of at least sort of giving it a mod-Victorian vibe, so it’s acceptable. Night night.

