Coming back from my mother-in-law’s out in the country yesterday, driving past golden hay bales and flurries of crows ascending en masse, I was reminded of my idea for a painting with cows and crows. But, I think yesterday I just wasn’t feeling it (muse was on an unannounced holiday, apparently), and I was ultimately unhappy with what I came up with.

Yevgenia over at Watercolored Hands has begun a challenge of doing a portrait a day, and it reminded me that, hey, I had one of those challenges once upon a time! You see how great that whole daily thing worked out for me. But she’s decided to have a time limit for hers, and I thought, that’s a good idea, perhaps that would make it more doable for me. So, I am going to endeavor to try to do a painting a day again for a week, just to start off with (my week will have to be broken by a couple days off because I’m actually going away to Edinburgh on holiday and doubt I’ll be able to do painting, although we’ll see – I’ll take a sketchbook and watercolors at least, and might do some plein air stuff if the weather’s dry and there’s time).

So here’s the completed one for yesterday (watercolor pencil on paper):

Frosty Morning on the Farm

Frosty Morning on the Farm

I actually started out trying to do my acrylic painting, but got as far as the background and then couldn’t get the proportion of cows to frame quite right so kept having to paint over and start again. Finally I gave up, hoping to leave it for a day when I’m really more in the mood.

Cows & Crows (Background)

Cows & Crows (Background)

And I did some drawing as well, to continue the theme:

Cows Drawing (WIP1)

Cows Drawing (WIP1)

I wasn’t pleased with anything I did yesterday, but today is another day…

