Well, day 3 of my new self-imposed challenge of a painting a day has come and gone, and I have two paintings to show for it.

Firstly we have an autumn forest scene. Given that a howling gale is raging outside today, it’s a rather overly idyllic view of autumn. I should just call it ‘Wishful Thinking’. I’m reasonably happy with it. It’s nice and colorful, right up my alley, but I’m not sure if I’ve over or underworked it.

Autumn Walk

Autumn Walk

And I finished the Cows & Crows painting. Not happy with it. Overall I think it looks too busy and the proportions of the cows in the distance are wrong. I kind of wish I’d left them off now. It isn’t how I had it pictured in my head at all. I’d like to say I can always come back to it and rework it, but I think I’m done. Cows are surprisingly annoying to paint – up there with daffodils on my list of things to never paint again, I think. I think in my attempt to get it looking just like it did in my head I’ve overworked it to death. Oh well. Chalk another one up to experience.

Cows & Crows (Done 1)

Cows & Crows (Done 1)

Ah well. I’m on holiday. Time to kick up my heels and relax.

