We are just back from a mini holiday down to the Edinburgh area. It was only two days, but we had a good time and saw a few things I always wanted to see, so all in all a success as minications go. We saw Rosslyn Chapel, the Pentland Hills, Greyfriars Kirk cemetery in Edinburgh, Leith, and of course, the mecca of the thrifty homeowner… IKEA! 😉 I wish we had one up here in Aberdeen.

Scotland is a gorgeous country and we got to see a good chunk of it on our 3 hour drive down and back. I’ve done the trip before of course, but every time I go, I’m reminded of why I love living here. The green cliffs down to the sea, the rolling hills, the history… Yes, it’s been a rotten summer weather-wise, but we got two good days, and I’m happy to be living here again.

Here, have a patriotic ditty…

I took my sketchbook and watercolor pencils with me. I did get a chance to do some drawing at Rosslyn Chapel and took lots of photos for later paintings the rest of the time. I felt all windswept and interesting drawing in the open air, although the hubby and I were joking earlier that I wouldn’t probably need a jar of water for the watercolor pencils, I’d just have to hold the book up to the sky, because the weather was pretty dire when we first set out. But luckily it brightened as we got further away from Aberdeen. We had places to go and kitchens to look at at IKEA, so I just did a preliminary sketch and then took a reference photo and finished it when we got home. This was the result:

Rosslyn Chapel

Rosslyn Chapel

And because I’m a little behind now on the whole painting-a-day thing, I did a painting as well. It’s not of any of the Edinburgh scenery, although I took lots of photos for that… maybe some other time. I’ve had this photograph of an area up near Inverness for a while now and decided to give it a go, inspired by landscapes of Scotland. I stuck some hay bales in for good measure as well, because they were everywhere on our trip and I just love haybales.

Autumn in the Highlands

Autumn in the Highlands

On a totally random tangent, does anyone know why you never see scarecrows anymore? Have they replaced them with something more high tech these days? There is a lot of time to think of these things during 6 hours of driving through the country.

