I think I might be a bit behind on the painting-a-day thing, but I’ve got a couple more that might count as two if I’m being very sneaky ;).

First of all, I’ve done another drawing/painting with my new watercolor pencils. I really love these things. They are so much fun. I’ve had a photograph sitting in my inspiration folder for a while now that I’ve always wanted to paint – I meant to do it with acrylics, but I couldn’t be bothered setting up my easel today, so I decided to give the pencils a go. They don’t look very bright while you’re drawing with them, but once the water goes on, they just suddenly get all this va-va-voom. It’s a picture of a side alley in Seattle, one of my all-time-favorite cities.

Seattle Street Cafe

Seattle Street Cafe

I spent most of this afternoon scanning my newer paintings/drawings for prints. Included in this was the Sedna drawing, and I had fun adding color to it in Photoshop after I got home and put the scan on my computer. I considered printing it out and watercoloring it, but it’s been a while since I did any digital artwork, so I thought why not?

This is the result of the first color addition to the Sedna drawing. I like it, but I think I’m going to try another with deeper colors later. It’s a little pastel for my tastes just now.

Sedna (Color 1)

Sedna (Color 1)