I did a painting today of something I normally wouldn’t, a sort of bleak factory scene. I was stuck for something to paint today, so I had a look at the monthly Different Strokes challenge going on on the Wet Canvas acrylic board. Basically the folks there have a monthly challenge where someone posts a reference photo or two and then everyone does a painting of that reference photo (or a combo of more than one) and at the end of the month everyone posts their results, so that you can see how different people approach the same picture. It’s always interesting to see the reveals, but with the exception of my Secret Cottage painting which was done for the challenge back in April, I haven’t been participating because I wasn’t terribly inspired by the pictures, or I forgot about it altogether. Today’s picture was not something I normally would have chosen on my own, but it was an interesting challenge, because, as several others commented on WC, it was outside my comfort zone. It was bleak, it wasn’t colorful, it was a building. I seem to be doing a lot of buildings lately, but normally I steer clear of those. All those angles and windows!! I would have made a crummy architect.

But I saw it as an interesting challenge, to take something that was so not me and turn it into something that was me – i.e., add some color to it. I’m pretty pleased, all in all. It’s not a favorite, but given that the subject matter didn’t exactly send me, I think it turned out well enough.

The Abandoned Factory

The Abandoned Factory

