One of my all-time favorite poems is Neutral Tones by Thomas Hardy. I’ll admit, it’s a seriously depressing poem, one discovered back in my teen goth days, but I still love it to this day. There’s something about the rolling cadence, the word choices, and the bitter tone that just send shivers down my spine. It’s one of those poems that creates such a vivid atmosphere and mood that you feel you’re actually there and can feel the chill of the wind and see the grey of the sky.

Today is one of those dreary days here in lovely Scotland, and the feeling reminds me of the way this poem makes me feel. Only throw in some gale force winds and pouring rain. There you have it! Glorious autumn.

While apparently my parents in California are having an Indian summer with 100F temperatures, we in Aberdeen are having fog and temps in the 50s. It is firmly and most definitely Fall here. And in honor of the change in seasons, I have been working on some autumnal creative projects.

First off, I’ve done a watercolor drawing of some pumpkins.

Pumpkin Patch

Pumpkin Patch

It was also my turn to bake for a weekly cake day we have at work, so I went for something seasonal and did gingerbread cupcakes with chocolate frosting & chocolate chips. They taste like Lebkuchen, the German gingerbread cookies smothered in chocolate that you get at Christmas time. Yum! Plus, they were healthy – I used apple sauce in place of the butter… See? TOTALLY healthy ;)! In case anyone’s interested, I used this recipe for the cake (replacing the cocoa in the batter with extra flour, the butter with applesauce, and baked 15-20 min. as cupcakes, filling cups about 3/4 full) and this recipe for the chocolate ganache frosting.

Lebkuchen (Gingerbread & Chocolate) Cupcake

Lebkuchen (Gingerbread & Chocolate) Cupcake

There were a lot…

Lebkuchen Cupcakes Galore!

Lebkuchen Cupcakes Galore!

I have also started crocheting again – am attempting to make my first pair of socks. I’m just a wee bit rusty and these are going to be some wonky socks if I ever finish them!

