I’ve three new things for you today:

1) I have done a painting which I intend to enter into a competition (the first after the Aberdeen Artists’ debacle of 2010) down in Edinburgh. It’s the Pentland Hills art inspiration competition, which I saw advertised there on our recent trip to Edinburgh. I’m not sure how I’ll get it down there and back, but am hoping they’ll ship it back to me if I ask them very nicely.

Pentland Hills

Pentland Hills

2) I have crocheted my first pair of socks. The second foot came out better than the first, and they’re both a bit big, but it’s a learning process and I’m quite chuffed to have gotten this far!

Socks the first

Socks the first (please ignore the carpet in need of hoovering!)


Sock side view

Sock side view (again, ignore the pigsty behind the foot)

3) I have discovered a new band I love: New Young Pony Club. Their The Optimist album is, from first track to last, fantastic, and I cannot stop listening. I think my two favorites are: Dolls and Lost A Girl.

