Sorry for being incommunicado for a while. I’ve been investigating the possibility of doing that psych masters in Aberdeen instead of Edinburgh and have had several meetings and reading to do for that, so haven’t had much time for art lately. However, it’s also been a kind of stressful few weeks for a lot of reasons, so I have been itching to sit down with some paints again; it’s my favorite way to relax, after all. And today I finally had the chance to.

I’ve been eyeing this website – Virtual Paintout – for a while now. It’s a monthly challenge for artists, to use Google Streetviews in a given location in the world to find scenes to paint. I’ve been intending to contribute for a while now, but never seemed to find a scene that really made me want to sit down and paint. And even when I did find something, I kept forgetting to go back to it before the deadline. But this month I was determined. This month’s location was Rio de Janeiro, and I’ve spent the last couple of days happily wandering the streets of Rio virtually and exploring. I found quite a few interesting scenes – Rio has some lovely old buildings and shady, tree-lined streets – but finally settled on this scene because I liked the yellow and blue colors of this one (this is ink & watercolor on paper, 11″ x 14″).

Yellow & Blue Cafes, Rio de Janeiro

Yellow & Blue Cafes, Rio de Janeiro

