Happy New Year everyone!

It has been a year now since I started my blog, and although I fell flat on my nose with the whole 365-paintings-challenge, I think it’s safe to say that I have managed to drag myself out of the creative desert I had been stuck in for too many years to mention, which was my one and only aim for last year, so creatively, 2010 was all-in-all a good year.  I was relatively sad to see it go actually, but hopefully 2011 will bring new bright and beautiful things.

I’m getting off to a slow start in the new year and haven’t been much in the mood to paint, but today I did a drawing/painting for Virtual Paintout – the location for which is Boston this month.  I’ve been to Boston a few times in my life, and I have to say, all I can ever remember about the place is brick.  Brick, brick and more brick, which, for someone who likes color, does not make for much inspiration.  Boston is architecturally lovely with some gorgeous big historical houses, and I’m sure there is color – a lot of it actually reminded me of San Francisco, which is my favorite city, so that’s praise indeed.  Maybe the mood wasn’t right, but I found it difficult to find something to paint.

I settled on this one today, but I’m not terribly happy with the way it came out, so I think I’ll try again with something else later.  Not sure if I’ll submit this or not. This is the original Google Streetview it’s taken from.

Crooked House with Purple Shutters, Boston

Crooked House with Purple Shutters, Boston

Additionally, take a look at this bonkers sunset tonight. The photo doesn’t even do it justice – it really looked like Doomsday or something out there. Pretty dramatic.

The End is Nigh

Repent, The End is Nigh

