Gah! I took about 20 pictures of this painting and got ONE that was even semi-useful. The rest came out blurry, completely the wrong colors, shiny in all the wrong places, or showed none of the texture. Probably partly my fault for trying to photograph something at nearly 7pm with very little light in the room. So bear that in mind, this photograph is the best of a bad lot…

Crash

Crash

I have been working on this painting for the Wet Canvas acrylic forum’s Different Strokes January challenge, which was to paint this reference photo by Kathrin Guenther. It is supposed to be mainly in acrylic – it being the acrylic forum’s challenge and all – but I decided to try out something from my cupboard of artsy-crafty delights, given the almost abstract quality of this shot. I bought some acrylic medium with tiny glass beads in it a while back. At the time I wasn’t sure when I would ever use it, but this painting seemed like the perfect excuse to try it, so I tried it out for the water to give it some bubbly texture, and I’m really pleased with the effect. It feels nice to be doing something slightly mixed media again – it’s been a while. It’s also a little bigger than I have worked in for a while now – about 16″ x 20″. Here’s a detail shot:

Crash (Detail)

Crash (Detail)

In other news, I realised I still (!) had cranberries from Thanksgiving left in the fridge. Luckily they still seemed fine, so I thought I’d make something with them. I didn’t feel like faffing about with my usual cupcakes/muffins, so found this recipe for “Thanksgiving Bread” that sounded good. I halved the recipe, replaced the oil with applesauce, and added about 1/3 of a bar of white chocolate, chopped. It is to. die. for. Despite the applesauce cutting the fat, it sadly still does not fit in with my diet, unfortunately, so it’s been torture trying to resist eating the whole loaf, sadly. REALLY addictive. Would be lovely toasted with a little butter on top or fried into some French toast, if anyone feels like trying it out.

