One of these days, I really should paint something again that isn’t for a challenge. I’m finding it hard to get motivated unless there’s a clear deadline in place lately, partly because I’ve got so many other things on my plate at the moment, which leaves little time for being inspired without my hand being held. This month’s Virtual Paintout challenge was to choose a Google streetview in Romania. I’ve always wanted to go to Romania, and I have to say, some of the strangest and some of the most gorgeous sights I have come across while browsing for Virtual Paintout came from this challenge.

Edited: Funeral removed as perhaps not the nicest thing to broadcast. But other not-quite-seen-everyday scenes include: this and this.

There were also some amazingly stunning views to be had in this lovely country, such as this one or this.

But I chose this one to paint: Vlad the Impaler’s (Dracula’s) Castle, Bran Castle. Looking decidedly UNspooky on a gorgeous blue-skied, sunny day.

Bran Castle, Romania

Bran Castle, Romania

In other news, I became the proud owner of a Kindle thanks to it being my birthday last week. It doesn’t come with any sort of case unfortunately, and a quick look at the official Kindle cases had me gasping at the price, which is nearly half the price of the Kindle itself! Highway robbery! So, I decided to try my hand at making myself a cover. Just took some foamcore board, yarn, mad crochet skillz ;), and a button. Took me a while (my mad crochet skillz != fast crochet skillz), but I’m pleased with the end result. Plus, I didn’t have to pay my firstborn child, an arm, a leg and the moon. Take that, Amazon!

Kindle Holder (Closed)

Kindle Holder (Closed)

Kindle Holder (Open)

Kindle Holder (Open)

