So, I’m sick again. A mere 3 weeks after the last cold/flu bug, I’m back to hacking my lungs out and knocking myself out with NightNurse. Fun times. My immune system hates me. Anyway, I spared my colleagues the gift that keeps on giving and stayed home today. But, being sick at home yet again is rather boring. There’s only so much dragging yourself from bed to kettle to bed again you can do before you go stir crazy. So I decided to do something useful that didn’t require a lot of energy: I painted.

Now, what do you want when you’re sick? Your Mommy? Yes. But she’s 6000 miles away at the moment. So what’s next on the list? Why, tea and kittens of course! Something comforting and something cute…always does the trick.

Recently, I found out about a website called, well, ‘Tea and Kittens‘. It is so very very British. Where there is tea there is hope, doncha know. Anyway, aside from the fact that they really do need to put in a few more images of tea and kittens to keep it interesting, I could just look at this all day. Especially the kittens. I’m starting to get sick of tea, honestly… Even more amusing, they offer a plugin for Firefox and Chrome browsers, Kitten Block, which, when you are about to go to something on the DailyMail or Express websites, redirects you to Tea & Kittens instead, for your sanity’s sake. I have installed it on my browser, although I can’t say that I often end up on the Daily Mail site anyway. But the concept amuses me. And who doesn’t love tea & kittens?

I saw some watercolors recently of cats that I found flippin’ amazing. Cats are hard to render right, a lot of artists who are otherwise really good screw up when it comes to painting cats. I don’t know why that is, but it’s true. And I am one of those people who in the past has struggled when trying to draw a cat, so I haven’t for many years. But inspired by this guy, I thought I’d give it a whirl today. So I got out my least labor-intensive paints (watercolor) and masking fluid, found a picture on the Wet Canvas reference library that I liked and this is the result, which I’m pretty pleased with, all in all:

Wishful Thinking

Wishful Thinking

HELP JAPAN – 60% of proceeds on 2 prints to go to Japan relief fund

Additionally, I would like to also point out that I am currently donating 60% of proceeds on two of my prints – ‘Black Cherry’ and ‘Snow on Bennachie’ until June on all three of my shops – Etsy, Folksy, and RedBubble – to the British Red Cross’ Japan Earthquake/Tsunami relief fund. So if you were eyeing either of these two prints, now would be a good time to get art while also helping Japan. Please spread the word. Thank you.

Black Cherry

Black Cherry

on EtsyFolksyRedBubble

Snow on Bennachie - HELP JAPAN

Snow on Bennachie

on EtsyFolksyRedBubble

And if you’re sick of looking at my art (heaven forbid!), there are other artists also offering their art for Japan. I have put together a treasury of artists on Etsy who are offering all or part of their proceeds on their crafts and artworks for various charities in aid of Japan.

There are also some other resources I’m aware of for artists/crafters offering art/craft auctions for Japan:
Art Auctions for Japan Blogspot
Daily Paintworks Help Japan Challenge
The Collective – jewellery auctions for Oxfam

If anyone else knows of any others, please let me know and I’ll add it to the list.

Additionally, you can always donate directly. Here are a couple of major charities you might consider donating to:
Second Harvest Japan (Japan’s first food bank)
British Red Cross
American Red Cross
There is a Japanese Red Cross, but I think the only way to donate to them is through one of the other two, so far… correct me if I’m wrong.)

