Hello. I know I’ve been rather MIA lately… a lot going on round here – went to a reunion of my college roommates down in London, 2 bank holiday weekends in a row with stunning weather lured me outdoors, and just finished one of my two day jobs. So there has been much merriment and partying.

But now it’s back to work and back to painting…

Today I painted a painting that I’ve been meaning to do for quite some time – it’s a view of my own flat, specifically the plants along the windowsill in my bedroom. I love lying in bed and watching the shadows and highlights on the curtain and the leaves of the geraniums when we get a sunny day, which – blessedly! – we have been having a lot of lately. (Scotland in Spring on a sunny day is so beautiful!) I was a little worried I wouldn’t do it justice, but I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out actually.

Along a sunny windowsill

Along a sunny windowsill

I decided not to enter a painting into the Aberdeen Artists’ Society show this year, mainly because I didn’t have anything yet that I thought would appeal to the ‘Aberdeen style’ (and yes, there definitely is a style…). But I did start a triptych painting based on panorama landscapes from our highlands and islands trip back in 2008. I’m almost done with the first one…

The Quiraing, Skye (WIP1)

The Quiraing, Skye (WIP1)

I have a whole year to finish the other two 😉 Actually, there’s more that I plan to do to these paintings, but that’s a surprise… 😉

And also, because I love sharing music finds, this is the song I’m listening to on repeat today…

