I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to produce something new, but I guess it’s better late than never. I have been busy planning paintings in my head, but lately I’ve been in a strange mood – bordering on the moody doldrums of a down patch, but not quite. I feel okay, actually, but whenever I went to actually do anything, I couldn’t seem to get myself to lift a finger. I think it’s called being… lazy? 😉 Anyway, I’m coming out of this patch gradually now, and I have actually managed to produce something and get some things done I’ve been putting off. This includes joining up with another local art group, giving my card out at a cafe for a possible exhibition there, and redesigning my portfolio website. I hope to maybe one day soon even begin to offer the option to buy paintings and prints directly from my website!

This painting is from a photograph I took on holiday back a couple years ago when we did a tour of the Western Isles of Scotland. On our trip, we visited Skye, Harris and Lewis. One of the last things we did on Lewis before we headed home was visit an Iron Age broch. I’d heard people talk about the brochs before, back when I used to work in a museum, but I was pretty blown away by the fact that there were stairwells IN the walls of the building, and that you could still (partially) climb them. I took a picture of the stairwell in the wall of the broch, and it was a very moody, dramatic picture. One I thought would make a nice painting…

Broch steps (reference photo)

Broch steps (reference photo)

Unfortunately, I think the blacks need to be much blacker to get that sense of drama. I had sort of intended to add some ink, but for some reason, the selection of inks I bought didn’t include black, so I will need to go and buy some first. Watercolour is evidently just not going to cut it for deep, deep blacks. As I tend to shy away from plain blacks and plain whites in my paintings, I had to add blues and greens and browns instead for some depth, which I like. But all in all, I think it might need some more work before I’m truly happy with it.

In the Walls

In the Walls

