It’s exciting times for me… because I’m going to be entering paintings in my first two exhibitions this summer! I finally joined some local art groups – the Forecourt Art Group and Limousine Bull – and have been accepted to exhibit at both of their upcoming group exhibitions! The Forecourt summer exhibition will be August 5th – 28th at the Peterculter Heritage Hall. The Limousine Bull themed show, which is part of the annual NEOS (North East Open Studios) region-wide art event, runs 10th – 18th September. I’m quite geekily excited, as you can probably tell 🙂 These are, after all, my very first exhibitions, if you don’t count school.

help wanted sign

Now, here’s the part where I ask for your help, my dear, lovely readers. The Limousine Bull exhibition has a theme this year of ‘tbc’. I have decided to draw on my psychology background and turn it into something psycholinguistic and interactive, and the project as a whole is to be called ‘Linguistic Rorschach’. I don’t want to give too much away about the reasoning behind my project so that it doesn’t play a role in your contributions… Suffice it to say that the first part of it requires input from you guys, the general public reading my blog:

I need you to think on the letters ‘tbc’ and what they mean to you. What springs to mind? Free associate if you like, write haiku, limmericks, is it a bizarre acronym?, a masonic code?, anything that you can think of that you can associate with ‘tbc’ and let me know – you can comment here, send me an email at genevieve at gcseh dot com or leave me a message on Facebook or Twitter. I’m open to any and all impressions; there are no wrong answers, just brainstorm like mad.

I will then choose 4 of the impressions from you to turn into paintings, which will be exhibited at the Limousine Bull exhibition. I won’t give your name (unless you want me to), so feel free to go wild ;).

As a further incentive for your help, I’m offering a free print of your choice from my Etsy or Folksy shops to those people whose ideas I choose. Each person can submit up to 10 ideas/interpretations, and I will choose on July 12th. So get submitting! Thank you in advance for your help!!

MTA: Because this was my first reaction, my husband’s first reaction, and now a couple other people’s reactions…. no, TBC isn’t just a placeholder for an actual theme still to come, it is the actual theme. I didn’t make it up 😉 I suspect that might have been how the theme started out though…

