I have been waking up in the middle of the night lately in a bit of a panic about all the things I really ought to be doing instead of wasting time sleeping. I really should be painting those TBC paintings. I really should be reading more for my upcoming masters project. I really should be finishing up that transcription work I took on to make some extra money. I really should be exercising. I should, should, should… nag, nag, nag…lather, rinse, repeat. Anyway, yesterday I went into a bit of a fevered painting frenzy and painted all morning and then did some more art (something not TBC-related) when I got home from my day job. Sadly, I still don’t think I’m very far along, but at least I feel I’m making a start.

So, I give you a sneak preview at three of my TBC paintings on the go…

TBC 1 & 2 (WIP)

TBC 1 & 2 (WIP)

TBC3 (WIP)

TBC3 (WIP)

That last one looks a bit unappealing just now I know, but that’s just because it’s preparatory work, the white things at the bottom will be painted once they’ve dried.

About the announcing of the TBC ideas I’ve chosen… I hope you’ll bear with me a little while longer and allow me to wait until the paintings are all finished to announce the finalists for the print prizes. It’s probably cheating a bit, but I’m still vascillating about the last two ideas to paint and will probably need to see how it goes with trying to paint them before I settle – hope you understand!

The last sneak peek I have to share is a work-in-progress artwork I started last night just for fun.

Koi (WIP)

Koi (WIP)

It’s based on a photograph in my inspiration folder. I liked the color of the blue fish in the front and thought that it might work well using a technique that was a favorite of mine when I was a child – crayon-on-crayon scrapework. I think you all know what I’m talking about – drawing something in bright colors and then covering over it in black or dark crayon and then scraping away the dark layer to reveal the bright colors below. I used to LOVE doing that as a kid. It didn’t work quite the way I’d hoped on this one, but I had fun working with a different medium than usual. I love the smell of crayons and also looking through all the interesting color names, tearing off the paper around the top edge to give you more crayon access. Ah… nostalgic kiddie art materials. I have great plans for watercoloring the background eventually. I want to try out an effect I haven’t used (correctly) in decades – watercolor bubbles – but the last time I tried it kind of recently it failed miserably, so need to do some more research on how to get it to turn out right, first. Any watercolorists out there who want to give me some pointers? Thanks. 🙂

