I really really should be working on the TBC paintings. But I have made a little bit of headway, and am now pretty much done with two and have another two about halfway done, with only one more to start from scratch, so I’m on the way – at least that’s my justification for taking some time off to procrastinate and do some other artwork just for fun ;). August sure is zipping by very fast though, and the September 5th hand-in date is looming!

I miss doing art for art’s sake though, I must admit. It might be a while again before I decide to do a show where I have to work on anything specific – I don’t like the pressure I feel like it puts on me – makes it feel too much like work! So I took a break and decided to finish up the koi painting. Before doing the bubble background on the koi, I decided to test the technique out first on a sheet of blank paper, so I ended up with a blank sheet of paper with a bubble background. The shadows under the koi were bugging me – too dark – so I scraped off a layer of the crayon. I’d left the other sheet of blank/bubble background paper underneath my koi drawing while I was scraping off the dark crayon on the shadows, and afterwards I discovered that a bunch of the crayon shavings had stuck to the paper underneath. The serendipitous little black flecks on the blue background got me thinking that I could do something with silhouettes with that piece of paper, and I ended up deciding to do a drawing. I haven’t done much drawing over the years, but I’ve been inspired lately by the lovely ink drawings of some of the Forecourt Art Group members – Anita Inverarity and Esther Green – to try my hand at some drawing. I know it’s still not my forte, but I enjoyed doing something other than my usual painting, even when I found it a bit frustrating.

Murder

Murder

I suppose a red or violet sky would have worked better than this sort of cheerful blue, but part of me thinks that makes it creepier somehow, heh!

Here’s the koi picture finished. I’m still not really happy with the shadows, but I don’t think there’s anything else I can do to salvage it.

Koi (Finished)

Koi (Finished)

In other news, my first exhibition since school is up and running with the Forecourt Art Group, and apparently off to a good start (although sadly I missed out on the opening night – though I hear it was very busy! – because I was away in Glasgow). I have yet to get out to see it myself, but I was told that my Sheepies painting sold the first night :)! I have a sort of invigilating shift this Sunday the 14th, so if anyone’s interested in dropping by when I’m there to say hello, if you’re in the area, I’ll be there 12-2pm. The Forecourt Summer Exhibition is on at the Peterculter Heritage Hall every Sat & Sun afternoon this month, ending the 28th.

I had a little cottage industry going, making up box sets of greeting cards and prints.

Cottage Industry (Forecourt Summer Exhibition)

Cottage Industry (Forecourt Summer Exhibition)

Paintings framed and ready to go…

Sheepies/Highland Autumn Framed

Sheepies/Highland Autumn Framed

Autumn Walk Framed

Autumn Walk Framed

I also will be doing a third exhibition this summer at the Belmont Picturehouse Cinema here in Aberdeen, beginning August 25th. I’ll only have about six small paintings in there (likely my sky series and some water ones). Here’s a poster (opens a PDF) – if you wanted to print it out and stick it up on your noticeboards at work or wherever (if you’re in the Aberdeen area), that would be gratefully appreciated :).

And now, I’d better get back to that procrastination… 😉

