Well, I think it’s safe to say that was the end of our summer… if you can even call it that.  I feel a bit cheated by the horrid weather we’ve had this year, and although autumn is usually a time of the year that I welcome with open arms, this year I just feel a bit annoyed that I didn’t have the chance to get sick of blue skies and long daylight.  However, one of the things I do still like about the encroaching autumnal weather and darkening days is what I like to call my ‘Victorian kitchen garden harvest’ tradition.  It’s hardly a big harvest, before you get that idea, because we don’t have a garden of our own, and my little windowsill herb garden attempts have failed spectacularly, aside from my hardy little chives.  However, luckily my mother-in-law has a very green thumb and a lovely, big Victorian garden which still has some of the original heirloom Victorian plants growing in it, and thanks to her, I can take home any excess she doesn’t need.  She has a lovely apple tree that every year produces a gigantic crop of little, blushing, tart-sweet apples – I forget the name of the variety, but it’s an old, old variety that starts with a W.  And every year I take a bucket or two (or three!) of apples back with me and make a huge batch of apple butter, which goes out as Christmas gifts to all my friends and family.  It’s a really satisfying thing to do – turning a lovely old variety of fruit that has been growing for over a hundred years into a homemade-with-love, spiced preserve that’s perfect for warming up those cold, dark days ahead.  Every year, this tradition is one of my favourite things about the changing of the seasons.  In honor of that time coming up again soon, my Folksy Friday theme for today is the old Victorian kitchen garden.

Victorian Romance Flower Lariat - Knitted Textiles by Victoria Jackman

Victorian Romance Flower Lariat - Knitted Textiles by Victoria Jackman

Shabby Chic Gift Tags - PollyKrafts

Shabby Chic Gift Tags - PollyKrafts

Gothic inspired purple rose key charm - Secrets - onesunnyafternoon

Gothic inspired purple rose key charm / Secrets - onesunnyafternoon

Fruit Magnets - Kettle of Fish

Fruit Magnets - Kettle of Fish

Art brooches - C Creations

Art brooches - C Creations

Lavender heart sachet - Treacle Jack Designs

Lavender heart sachet - Treacle Jack Designs

Personalised apple crate w/ herbs - Growing Gifts

Personalised apple crate w/ herbs - Growing Gifts

Flower top tea cosy - Andrea Lesley Crochet

Flower top tea cosy - Andrea Lesley Crochet

Hessian vintage bunting - Goodwill Bunting

Hessian vintage bunting - Goodwill Bunting

Rustic herb markers - Little brick house

Rustic herb markers - Little brick house

Woven willow basket - Raggle Taggle

Woven willow basket - Raggle Taggle

Anemone Botanical Print - Oakapple & Rose

Anemone Botanical Print - Oakapple & Rose

Crocheted, beaded jam jar cover - Maria Rose

Crocheted, beaded jam jar cover - Maria Rose

