A lot of people have asked me about the TBC exhibition, how it was going, when they could see the finished pieces. I have been keeping things under wraps until after the actual exhibition to encourage as many local readers as possible to visit the exhibition itself. Now that NEOS is over, I can share the finished paintings with you guilt-free. In the end, Limousine Bull ended up hanging only three of the five paintings I did for this exhibition due to curatorial factors. I only got out to see the exhibition once, as I was away on holiday in the far north of Scotland for most of the week.  I just got an email from LB saying turnout was good and people seemed to enjoy the booklets. Judging from the weather during the NEOS week, anyone who did make it out probably should receive a medal for battling through the rain and wind to see art. A huge thank-you goes to my hubby, and friends Shona, Drew, Mike and Louisa, for coming out to the opening with me; the support was very much appreciated. And once more for good measure, thank you so much to all of you who contributed such great ideas in the beginning stages of this project. Those of you whose ideas I picked to paint have been contacted, and as soon as I sort out my printing/computer issues, you’ll be receiving your free prints, I promise.

One of the most gratifying parts of the exhibition for me was reading the comments people had written in the booklets afterwards. I was delighted to see people getting into the spirit of it and adding their thoughts to the mix. I’m not usually one to go in for the whole conceptual/interactive artwork thing, so it was a new and interesting experience for me, and I really liked reading what people saw in my paintings, and how their thought processes and memories triggered were sometimes quite different to my own.

Since two of my paintings (TBC1 and TBC4) didn’t get to make their debut at this exhibition, I thought perhaps I could do my own little virtual version of the TBC exhibition with all five of my paintings together, here on my blog. Feel free to add your comments to the virtual booklets… What do these paintings make you think of? Do you see how the TBC theme relates to them?

TBC1

TBC1

TBC2

TBC2

TBC3

TBC3

TBC4

TBC4

TBC5

TBC5

In other news, I am just returned from a whirlwind of a trip up to the far northern “mainland” parts of Scotland (Ullapool/Thurso/Wick area). The weather could have been better (to say the least), but we still had a great time and saw some amazing sights. Scotland luckily can be beautiful even in inclement weather, and all the fog, wind and rain actually just made the isolated, lonely, dramatic highlands look really atmospheric and moody. I drank a LOT of hot tea, fell in mud twice, wore two wooly sweaters non-stop and took millions of photographs of mountains, lochs and heather and overall had a lovely time. Also, I’d like to give a shout-out to the absolutely fantastic holiday lodge we rented for the week, at Highland Glen Lodges. Highly recommended if you’re ever in the area! Speaking of which, I did do one painting while away on our soggy adventures – of the stellar view from our lodge. It isn’t the greatest painting, but given it was done in about 20 minutes over morning coffee, it’s not bad, I think.

View from Highland Glen Lodge

View from Highland Glen Lodge

