Hi, remember me?

The prevailing excuse for why I haven’t updated the blog anywhere nearly as frequently as I once did is that grad school took over my life.  It turns out that to get a PhD you actually have to do quite a lot of work.  Go figure.  Anyway, although I got through the first year okay, I also ended up rather depressed, and I’ve therefore decided that I need to make a greater effort to balance my psychology work with my artwork a bit better.  All work and no play makes Genevieve a dull girl…

In that spirit, I’ve decided to do a few little art projects alongside setting up psychology experiments, for my sanity’s sake.

First off, one of the artists I follow on Facebook, Shanon Playford, has started a project recently, where she makes a bunch of handmade postcards and then sends them to a batch of random Facebook followers.  A very generous, cool idea, and I was lucky enough to make it into the first group, and am currently eagerly awaiting my present!  I promised Shanon that I would return the favor and send her a postcard from Scotland. I almost chickened out and sent her some ready-made but amusing Scottish tourist tack, something like this perhaps, but decided that was really unfair, and that I should make the effort to send her something handmade, as she is doing for me.  I gave it a whirl today, and although I started out planning on only doing one design, I got a bit carried away and ended up doing five.  You know, in case the first one was crap, I’d have another shot or four at getting something halfway decent to send to her; it also gives Shanon a choice.

Image

5 Postcards (all together)

 

Image

Postcard 1 (Fence Through the Glen)

 

Postcard 2 (Moody Glen with Heather)

Postcard 2 (Moody Glen with Heather)

 

Postcard 3 (Great Glen)

Postcard 3 (Great Glen)

 

Postcard 4 (Harris Beach)

Postcard 4 (Harris Beach)

 

Postcard 5 (Standing Stones at Callanish, Lewis)

Postcard 5 (Standing Stones at Callanish, Lewis)

 

I’m not sure what I’ll do with the others… I may “borrow” Shanon’s idea, if she doesn’t mind, and do a giveaway for my Facebook “followers”, if anyone’s interested.  I’m not sure though if the interest is there, or whether I’ll really have the time to do very many more, as grad school gets started again in earnest.  But if people express interest, it’s something I might do… Or if someone has any other ideas, I’d love suggestions.  Not feeling very creative at the moment!

In The Walls 2 (WIP)

In The Walls 2 (WIP)

The other project I’ve got in the works is entering a couple paintings into this year’s winter exhibition at local art gallery/group, Peacock.  They’re a doing a selection panel this year though, so who knows if anything of mine will actually end up displayed, but I thought I’d give it a go nonetheless.  They have a theme this year – grotto.  I had a look to see if any of my existing stuff would fit the theme – the only thing I could think of was my In The Walls painting, but that was too large to fit their A4 size limit.  So I figured I’d do another version of it for the show.  I’d always kind of wanted to revisit it with black ink to see if it gave it a more dramatic feel, and now I’ve got the ink to try it out.  I have started.  I’m finding – as I did with the last version – the stones problematic.  But I will persevere… This is a work in progress.

Not sure what I will do for my second allotted work.  I am thinking something in acrylic, possibly underwater.  We shall see… Stay tuned.

