So it’s November, apparently.  The date’s already in the double digits even!  You know what that means… (*whisper* The Holidays *whisper*).  Yikes!  I generally like to be done with my Christmas shopping by late October at the latest (and most of it done online or handmade so I don’t have to actually interact with anyone, Scroogey introvert that I am…), but I haven’t managed it this year.  So it’s finally dawned on me that I’d better get cracking, if I’m planning on doing anything handmade, which – given that I’m a broke grad student – I am.  Now, I haven’t done much artwork or crafts in quite some time, so I thought I should dust off my old crochet hooks and work on something just to get back into the swing of things.  I’ve been addicted of late to Pinterest, and have a board on there with all the cool crafty things I’d like to, one day when I have more time (yeah right…), make.  So I had a browse and came across a crochet pattern for an adorable amigurumi cactus pincushion I saw there, and since I’d never tried to make something like that – with a face and everything – I thought I’d give it a whirl, just for fun.  It was so tiny, I thought it wouldn’t take very long.

Amigurumi cactus pincushion

Amigurumi cactus pincushion

And I was right, it didn’t take me long at all, and it’s super cute, if I do say so myself.  I’m not usually into the anime or kawaii!!!! stuff, but this one’s rather adorable, I think.  I may give it to someone for Christmas, if I can bear to be parted from it… in which case, if they’re reading this blog, it won’t be a surprise.  Sorry!  I also crocheted something else today, but I think I should probably keep potential Christmas presents under wraps for now.  Maybe I’ll do a reveal in the New Year, a little Open House of Santa Cseh’s Workshop.

In other Christmas-related news, I have finished the two paintings from the previous-to-last post, which have now been submitted for the Peacock Visual Arts grotto-themed Christmas Show coming up soon.  The opening is this coming Friday, 16th Nov, 6-8pm, so if you are in the local area, do please come along – all are welcome to the opening, and it’s on for a few weeks until just before Christmas.  If it’s anything like last year, it’s a great atmosphere, with mulled wine, mince pies, and feels very festive, and is a good place to pick up original art for Christmas presents…  Here’s a preview:

Cavern

Cavern

In The Walls 2

In The Walls 2

And lastly, should you too be struggling with Christmas present ideas… 😉 I’ve also added some new prints (Redwoods & Sunshine, Croatia – Sea Wall, and Cavern) to my Etsy & RedBubble shops.  My RedBubble shop also has some useful merchandise on offer, including calendars, t-shirts, and a couple iPhone iPad cases featuring my artwork, and bear in mind that if you’d like something bespoke, I am happy to oblige, just get in touch 🙂 .

